Kanye Is Beyond Human In New Complex

kanye_2009_cover_large

No you are not looking at the remastered cover of “Moonwalker”, lol. This is Kanye West on the upcoming issue of Complex Magazine. Here’s some excerpts from the interview which you can view over at the Complex Blog:

Why do you think there’s such a fixation on your sexuality?

Kanye West: I really think it’s because society tries to dictate the way a guy is supposed to dress and the way a guy is supposed to act, and I refuse to conform. A lot of these dudes would never be accused of being gay just because they all look exactly alike. If people could just realize the amount of mundaneness and followers that lack creativity… I think people’s mentality is like, Only gay people are that creative. And it’s true there are a lot of gay people who are incredible creative minds, but there are straight people who are incredible creative minds—and there’s gay people who can’t dress or create at all, too. Closed-minded gay people probably say they dress “straight.”

Do you live in a state of anxiety over how you are being presented to the public?

Kanye West: In no way. It’s just that if I’m working with a writer that I feel don’t got my best interest in mind, I keep on telling them, “Put this in there” or “Don’t try to make me look like a monster.” But I’m not afraid. All I can do is be the best me and learn from the mistakes that I’ve made. There are mistakes that I’ve made that I deserve for people to look at me like a complete asshole because I have been a complete asshole. All I can do is just be a better person for myself—not to prove it to anyone, but just to be a better person, period. I beat myself up, and I make mistakes, and I get past it, and I get excited about the future.

Here’s the full video from the making of the cover…

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Leave a Reply

